It All Started With Cardboard

Acrylic Ink Newsprint

Okay, maybe it didn’t all start with cardboard. But I want to share the cardboard pieces that eventually led me to art journaling. I mentioned in the post “my journey” that I was working on a project for my grad. class, through Lesley University about integrating the arts into the curriculum, when I discovered art journaling. The project was a personal exploration in the arts. I chose to work in the visual arts. My goal was to work through some of the hang-ups that had held me back in the past:

That I was not “good enough” to produce art.
I worried about “wasting” supplies.
I was also worried about making mistakes.

I also wanted to try out some of the techniques and supplies I had learned about in grad. school from my professors and cohort members.

I started working on some pieces of corrugated cardboard. I bought my first container of gesso! I had never heard of gesso until recently, and this mysterious product made me feel like a “real” artist.

I played with gel mediums, acrylic ink ,and crackle paint for the first time. I tore, glued, collaged, stamped, and outlined on these pieces.

I wasn’t sure what to do the finished pieces, and I had used my immediate supply of corrugated cardboard. So I began surfing the net for other ideas. That’s when I discovered art journaling. It seemed to be something I might like and a perfect place to keep my artwork explorations for my class. I tried it and was immediately hooked. I love my art journal. It has changed and impacted my life in a way far beyond what I ever imagined.

Stamping Solvent Ink Paint Phone Book

 

 

Corrugated Cardboard Gel Medium Acrylic Ink Collaging

 

Acrylic Ink Uniball Signo

 

White Acrylic Ink

 

Collage Mixed Media Gel Mediums

 

Gel Medium Pumice Glass Beads Color Mixing

 

Glass Bead Gel Medium

 

Pumice Gel Medium

 

Crackle Paint Sponge Painted Leaves

 

Sponge Painting Crackle Paint

Leave a comment

Filed under Art Journaling

Leave a Reply

