Flip Video & Kids With Cameras

My other idea for a final project was to add many tech elements to an existing literacy unit built around versions of The Three Pigs. I am NOT doing this for my final project, but I did do some of the pieces just to try new things. I had already thought of the ideas, so why not try them out. To read about my final project see my last post directly below this one.

I brought in my Flip digital video recorder from home. I had used it once. Usually my husband uses the Flip at special events and I take the photos.

I had the students act out a retelling of The Three Little Pigs with puppets. I have done this before, but never video “taped” it. I do it once a class session for as many days as it takes for each child to get a chance to be in the play. This activity takes less than five minutes (a class session) to do. After recording the groups, I had all the children watch the compilation video. My students enjoyed seeing themselves on the screen. I had a hard time getting students to speak up enough to be heard.

I also let the children use my old digital camera that I keep in my classroom. We were making a position word book using a pig puppet. Each child got to hold the pig and be a model illustrating a position word. Each child also was able to be the photographer for one photo for the book. I never thought of letting the students use the camera until reading an article handed out by my professor the first week of our tech. class.

I was very afraid that the children would drop the camera and break it (which didn’t happen). Most didn’t even need instruction on how to use the camera. A couple just needed to know what button to push to take the picture. A few needed instruction on how to use the little screen to make sure they weren’t cutting off their model’s head and that the pig was also in the picture. It did take a lot of my time (which I had to take out of pre-reading one on one skill work time) to help each kid set up their scene for different position words and oversee photographer. The kids enjoyed being allowed to use the camera.

I have got to sign off. I am falling asleep.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

